Food Allergy Elimination Diet Results

4 Dec

So overall here are the changes I have noticed:

No running nose
No dry cough
No sneezing in morning
Less bloated in my midsection
Feeling more energy

I will admit, this has been very difficult and after 12 days, I realized I had eaten a raisin, which are the grape family and since I’m allergic to grapes, I had to start all over again. Sigh. It was tough….

How do you take 52 foods you normally eat and take them out of your diet and try to open your mind to new things that is a very limited amount of foods really.

Then I have to, One by One, add my food allergens back in. You do one, so take gluten, for 8 days and have it with two meals of your day. And then see how your body responds. So we’re not just talking 6 weeks, we’re talking almost an entire year probably of incorporating all those foods back in, one by one, for 8 days at a time. It just is alot to work with.

I love what has happened so far but I don’t want to be that restricted for that long. It’s not living.

I’m so glad I found out what my allergens are and that I know how my body reacts to having them in my day to day life. I have completely cut out gluten (except am making an exception on the holiday of Christmas and New Years) and all dairy, coffee :(- , garlic…those were the highest allergens I responded to most. They give you numbers of how high your body responds to the food and those rated the highest, coffee actually the highest of everything. I did try coffee recently and noticed that I couldn’t sleep that night, (just not used to the caffeine from it anymore) I got a dry cough at night and the next morning I used half a box of tissues and felt horrible like I had a cold but just allergies and mostly, I found I could not breathe well and while trying to get to bed I had a wheeze just when breathing. This is almost like asthma symptoms.

Through this I have learned that I want to keep my body in a natural state, feeding it with natural, unprocessed foods that are predominantly from the ground. Lots of vegetables, fruits here and there and lean protein. That is what my body wants. I have also learned 3 in 5 people have food allergies and don’t know it. I think it’s best to know the most about your body as you possibly can. It’s only to your benefit.

I didn’t do before and after pictures but did do measurements and lost a total of 4 inches from my midsection. Now, I will say that I tend to bloat easily with certain foods and the other time of the month. But I do feel less bloated and mostly, less sinus issues…which has really made me happier in the morning, as they could sometimes take my day over–that’s how uncomfortable it was.

I hope this helps you in some way to realize that sometimes if you can’t figure out why, after taking so many roads, your body will not change, that sometimes you might have to dig deeper. Here’s to moving forward!

6 Responses to “Food Allergy Elimination Diet Results”

  1. lynn December 4, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    are you doing this on your own or under the care of a doctor or nutritionist?
    congrats on putting forth all the effort to take care of yourself and get to the root of the situation.
    this is something i need to do but just don’t know how to get started or where to go?

    • fierceforward December 14, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Lynn, under the care of a doctor. She is a natural healing doctor. She told me what to do and I did it under her recommendation. If you google search food allergy and natural hormone testing, something in your area should come up. This particular one was called “healing arts” if that gives you any indication of type of business. IT’s a family friend and I trusted her going into it..but it is no gimic….if anything, family practice or regular doctors don’t tell you enough in my opinion. hope not to offend anyone who is or knows one of these doctors..it’s just my opinion. no getting to the root of the problem like this way.

      • lynn December 16, 2011 at 8:40 am #

        thanks for the info… i agree that natural health doctors are very thorough and provide a very valid and useful service… thanks for the info..

  2. FitKatieB December 5, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    where did you get your food allergy testing done? family doctor?

    • fierceforward December 14, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      Hi there. No, a natural healing doctor. Google in your area, “natural healing doctor” or “food allergy and hormone testing.”

  3. Justina December 23, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Hi Ash, i am seriously considering doing it too.. even though I think I know what my body needs.. just like you say – natural foods – veg, fruit and protein.. and some good fats – sounds easy, hey! the truth is that it is exactly what we need and if we feed our bodies with the right fuel they respond well. but if we start putting BAD RUBBISH food our bodies get into shock and we start feeling rough.. i made this mistake and after 2 years of being good with myself (with an occasional cheat meal) i punished my body by eating rubbish for A WEEK! I am not joking – i put a stone in a week! A STONE! My face tripled, i am bloated, i can literally see fat layer on my thighs and my abs. i feel so sad and depressed .. but Ash, with help of your blog and inspirational thoughts on facebook I will fight back and will fiercely move forward :) xxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

