Never Hide.

28 Mar

I have gotten a lot of questions lately about how I stay motivated.  I Found this in my Notes that I wrote a while back.  Since I wrote this, even more has changed with myself, Fierce Forward and Fierce Forward evolving as a business.  The best advice I can give other than tell you of my journey and how I created the opportunities I did, would be to say, “Believe in yourself even if you have to fake it til you make it(it takes time to gain confidence, but putting yourself in that vision and believing it even if you don’t totally yet, will help you see it)….never give up and persist til you get what you want!”

Before I start my story I wrote in August of 2011…..I finally got the Ray Bans I had been wanting for a very long time!

Rewind 3 years, I was in a totally different place.  If I never would have changed that place, I would be in a completely worse place than I ever was.  The thing about moving forward or backwards is that usually your momentum takes you farther in the direction you are going.  If you are moving backwards, and unhappy with your situation, you probably just won’t stay that same degree of “unhappy,” you’ll most likely keep worsening your feelings for that unhappiness, because you aren’t truly living the life you want to live.  Isn’t that what unhappiness is?  When you don’t feel a sense of fulfillment in an important area(s) of your life.

On the other hand, when you’re moving forward, you continue to build on that feeling of accomplishment and want more and more of it.

When you’re out of balance and something isn’t right in your life, you feel it on all levels.  I find that the way I was living before, I had known that I was moving backwards but the best analogy I can come up with is, I was a cat chasing my own tail.  It was hard to get out of.  I knew it would take time, but I wanted to feel good instantly to motivate me to keep going forward.  My mind and confidence were at an all time low and it took something really big, a moment of complete desperation, for me to decide that there was no other way but to commit and push through what I knew would be a road of challenges, struggles, self questioning, tons of hard work and SACRIFICE.

In 3 years, I have been through the most challenging, yet rewarding years of my life.

Here is what I have gained in my life:

Love and Respect for Myself

A healthy relationship based on Love, not need

Certified Personal Trainer

2 Figure/Bikini Competitions, 1 NPC Qualifed

Transformation of the Week, Bodybuilding.com & Muscle&Strength.com

Asked to be a part of National Ad Campaign, Lift Life, Bodybuilding.com 2011

Athlete Team Bodybuilding.com

Spokesmodel Bodybuilding.com

Fitness Model International scholarship

In 2009, a year after my hard work, I went to the Arnold and met Tosca Reno and Steve Poynter from BB.com and remember walking by the BB.com booth (I was/am an avid BodySpacer) and thinking, wow, they’re so lucky and little did I know later that year I would be asked to be a part of that the next year.  (one of the coolest things that’s happened:) )in reflection and so many other things.  Most importantly, I did it.  I do it every day and nothing will ever change in me again.  I will never go back there.  It will always be a part of me and my story, but it keeps me in check, remembering how far I have come and grey vs. color.

I ever so often post notes like this to hopefully reach out to someone who is on the fence.  If you are reading this and want to start living the life you know you want to live but don’t know how to start.  All you have to do is reflect on what you want, write it down and commit.  One day.  One day is all it takes.  Get your mind and your heart into it and make it your life.  This isn’t a diet, there is no magic pill, no one else is going to do it for you…..it’s all you.

Now, I gravitate to things that push me.  When I’m afraid of it, I’ve developed the mindset to chase after what I fear and get over it.  Life is too short to Hide.

There’s this sunglass (Ray Ban) Campaign I always find myself gravitating towards, that says it all….Never Hide.

THE FOLLOWING IMAGES ARE TOO COOL FOR SCHOOL.

18 Responses to “Never Hide.”

  1. Anonymous March 28, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Absolutely LOVE this analogy “grey vs. color”. I’m def in the grey wanting color back in my life! Thanks Ash!

  2. Misty March 28, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    LOVE the new blog look Ash!

  3. mysteriosophy1 March 28, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Great advice!!

    Nicole

  4. Anonymous March 28, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Insightful as always.
    For anyone else out there who’s on the fence about making a change in him/herself, take heed of Ashley’s advice to commit yourself and believe in your capacity to improve your person. I made my commitment to change myself some 3 weeks back and I’m not looking back.
    And BTW I’m feeling some cool new Ray-Bans after reading this! :)

    • fierceforward April 1, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

      Right on!!! Ray bans are the way to go;) if you’re too cool for school that is;) Thank you for your kind words Ash!

      • Michael W April 5, 2012 at 1:48 am #

        You’re welcome, Ashley! I’m getting those Ray-Bans in time for our vacation this June!:) Replied to this last week using my phone but it didn’t leave my name. Anyhow, I browsed your latest blog on my phone earlier and it looks awesome. I’ll be reading it right after this.

        • fierceforward April 5, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

          sweet! YES< you must get Ray Bans, they take you up to a level 15 on the cool scale just by wearing them. youl'l see:)

        • fierceforward April 5, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

          :)

  5. Beth March 29, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Thanks for sharing Ashley!

    • Renaye April 1, 2012 at 2:40 am #

      WOW what inspirational words..im definatly in the grey and ready to put the colour back in my life…i need and want to loose 10kg…feeling rather discusting atm…i know i can do it…im ready…any tips for me…thank you…

      • fierceforward April 2, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

        Renaye…keep moving forward….you can achieve anything you set your mind to and commit and persist towards…..thank you for your kind words..you just have to start….then keep going!..Ash

      • fierceforward April 5, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

        hey Renaye. of course! Cut out processed foods, sugar and eat clean, simple and healthy and work hard in the gym. Just start. Create a motivational board and write down your ultimate goal and what you have to do to get there! Fierce Forward Ash

    • fierceforward April 1, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

      Thank you for your support Beth!! Ash

  6. trulycdn April 20, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Thank you for the great post. Your words have spoke mountains to me. I have also been in a “Grey” place for the past 3 years, and finally am starting to see color again. I recently started reading Tosca’s Books, and have started eating clean. I fell off of the diet for about 2 weeks and noticed the difference in how I felt, and now i am back on track and starting to drop the weight again, and feeling better. Your words have encouraged me to make the change in my life once and for all. We definately all have challenges, and I plan on sticking with this. It has been a lifelong dream of mine to enter a BB competition. I hope with your workouts and encouragement, I can succeed at my dream. Thanks for your positive energy!!!

    • fierceforward April 22, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      I loved reading this reply. thank you so much for your kind words. keep being you and fierce forward after what you want! anything is possible. ash

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

