I Love Legs Workout

12 Apr

Bring it!   My workouts are never JUST for the Ladies….they’re tough and nails and are for the Men too, so don’t you forget it mister!

I personally LOVE legs.  I love when I see a man who has a strong upper body and balanced legs and when a woman has strong legs.  You know they work hard for them.  It’s challenging to get any muscle group to “pop” but for some reason I like training my legs and glutes best:)

I suppose that is why I was so unbalanced in my upper half a year ago!  Be careful not to neglect upper body vs. lower or vice versa.  You want a Balance of all your muscle groups.  There will be some muscles that respond more than others to what you do, but then you’ll have to work on those muscles more.  For me, that is my Shoulders.  I do shoulders twice a week and they’ve grown tremendously.



DISCLAIMER:  Please don’t think you are going to get massive legs by doing one leg workout.  It takes a lot of heavy weight and major consistency and patience to start to see muscle growth.  The below workout will help with endurance, long and lean legs.

This Workout is for creating long, toned legs and works to create endurance by using higher reps and little rest.  There are still heavy weights and it is still challenging as all get-out.  Fear it not, just do the damn thing!

PERFORM EXERCISES BACK TO BACK WITH NO REST UNLESS YOU NEED A DRINK OF WATER.

(In parenthesis are the weight and reps I did, you can obviously switch this up.  The exercises are great ones!)

~Stiff Legged Deadlift with Barbell  (45 pound and added 5 to each side—55lb 12 reps)

~Bench hops in and out (15)  Straddle a bench with bench between legs and jump up with both legs on bench then hop immediately back down.

~Plate pullbacks (25lb. plate 20 reps/leg)  Lying on matte on back, put a 25 lb. plate or 10lb. plate on ground on top of a towel.  Your butt will be down at end of matte and bend left knee, then put right heel in center of plate (usually a little hole there) and lift your glutes so you are in a “Bridge” and pull your right leg back so it bends towards you.  You are pulling the plate towards your glutes and then push it back out.

~Single Leg Stiff Legged Deadlift (25lb. barbell 10/side)

~Single Leg Presses on Leg Press Machine (just weight of machine, this will get hard! 20/leg then straight into 30 calf presses with toes on bottom of leg press plate)

~Band Walks/Monster Walks *see picture below (20 steps to the left, 20 to right, repeat one more time)  *make sure on these you are keeping tension on the band the entire time.  Do not drag your other foot that is following leading foot.  Sit low and be in squat position to work more glutes and legs.  This should hit your medial glute HARD!   I did them and couldn’t help at the end of no rest/20 walks, my mouth just opened in pain.  :)I got a glute pump from this, unheard of!

Photo of Ashley, my Client

~In and Out Hops (30) *get in plank on ground, hop both your legs out to each side so your legs are then far apart from one another then hop them back in.  So you’re scissoring your legs.  Out and in is 1 rep.

REPEAT ENTIRE CIRCUIT 2 MORE TIMES FOR TOTAL OF 3 TIMES!  WHAT?  YES I SAID 3 TIMES TOTAL.   DO IT.

STAIRMILL 15 MINUTE INTERVALS.

Set stairmill to 15 minutes and Interval Setting.  Setting:  hard!  I did setting 8 and it got fast, just be mindful because you just did weights and your legs should be tired….so you don’t need to set it to highest setting and honestly think you’re going to pull it off;)   On the easier interval, skip a stair while walking up.  When it gets harder, then just single stair steps.

CONGRATULATIONS, YOU HAVE COMPLETED YOUR WORKOUT.  YOUR LEGS WILL THANK YOU BY TELLING YOU TOMORROW THAT THEY HAVE WORKED HARD.  THIS IS A GOOD THING IF YOU FEEL SORENESS THE NEXT DAY.  ALWAYS.

FOR MORE OF MY WORKOUTS, GO here.

7 Responses to “I Love Legs Workout”

  1. mistransformation April 12, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Great workout! Thanks!

  2. Magenl April 12, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been loving the glutes workout you posted a while back. It still makes me sore everytime.

    Thanks Ashley!!!

  3. doribraverman May 3, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    Thanks for the great workout! I was wondering, does it matter if you do all three reps of each exercise before moving on to the next? My gym gets kind of busy, so it’d be easier to finish each section at one time – rather than wait for equipment.

    • fierceforward May 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      sure thing! whatever works for YOU…it will all add up! Ashley

  4. Melanie Bowen February 26, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

