Blueberry Ohhht Bran Muffin

12 Oct

PRE WORKOUT ENERGY: I have one before a super major workout, which I’ve been doing more of lately. I mean, a$$ kicking workouts. Not a prancing on the elliptical workout. A red hot workout.

As I mentioned in my post, I do my best not to use tons of fats around my workouts, as it is very slow digesting and when I work my butt off, I want my body to use my fat stores after the carb source in my stomach, vs. a fat from food that’s still digesting.

I eat one, one hour before my session.

POST WORKOUT REPLENISHMENT: So here’s the deal, post workout, and again, I mean a really tough workout. You have EARNED YOUR CARBS. Your muscle and body needs carbs and needs them quick. I will have a scoop of protein powder with bcaas and glutamine (mixture) with water. Then I’ll have 2 of these muffins (or 1, depending how tough your workout was).

So here’s the thing, I’m going to give you two versions. One that is AHHHMAZING for just a snack. I’m telling you, a little brown sugar goes a long way (1/2 cup). I think this is better than using a cup of white sugar/and/or/maple syrup, which is how I changed it.

The notes next to the ingredients, you can substitute for lower fat content for pre and post workout.

1.5 cup oat bran (gluten free if you are intolerant)

1 cup almond meal *sub. oat flour equal parts

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 cup (3 scoops) vanilla or cake batter Whey Protein Powder

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. cinnamon (or more!)

1.5 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup egg whites

2 Tbsp. Grapeseed oil *or 2 Tbsp. Unsweetened Applesauce, which takes fat content down 2 grams per mfn

1 container or 1 cup blueberries

1 Tbsp. lemon juice

Mix dry ingredients, add in wet ingredients. Stir and add to pam sprayed muffin baking pan.

Fill 3/4 full.

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Bake. 16 minutes.

Makes 15 muffins.

Calories in one muffin: 121

Carbs: 14

Fat: 5

Protein: 9

Sugar: 5

Sodium: 42

Leave a Reply

