Pumpkin Protein Bars

12 Oct

*I LOVE snacks. People tell me most of the time snacks are the hard part, and I agree. That’s why I’ve taken snacks under my wing to give to you. One of my favorite things to do is to take a recipe that looks awesome and is packed with sugar, sodium and processed ingredients and make it into a healthy version. The most unhealthy thing that is listed below is the light brown sugar, and that can be omitted and in place you can add some unsweetened apple sauce. I’m learning about healthy substitutions. I also believe that everything in moderation is good for you and acceptable. If you never had any sugars, the one time you go out and celebrate something and decide to do so, your body is going to be very sensitive to that sugar you ingest. But if you do it in moderation and not overkill, I believe it is not hurting you. Also, as long as you don’t have too many or too much sugar at one sitting, the sugar won’t play against you to create an oversurge of insulin, resulting in fat storage.

2 Cups Oat Flour (Gluten Free Oat Flour Optional)

4 scoops vanilla or cake batter whey protein powder (I like whey because of the flavor it gives in baking..subtle)

2 tbsp. cinnamon (cinnamon is so good for you, I love it in everything)

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. baking powder

8 egg whites (1 3/4 cup)

1/4 cup splenda brown sugar (or light brown sugar)

16 ounce pumpkin or 8 ounce pumpkin baby food, squash baby food

12 ounce water

Makes 20

Calories 66

Fat 1

Sodium 63

Fiber 1.5

Sugar .5

Protein 9

Carb 10

Directions:

If you have a Vita-Mix, throw everything in mixer then just blend on high and put in rectangle baking pan 9×12. I spray pam evoo spray.

Bake 20 minutes on 350 degrees or until you can stick toothpick or knife in center and does not stick. These bars are a little more spongy and I like them cold.

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Protein Bars”

  1. Phaedra M Leslie October 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Cake batter whey protein powder? SOUNDS DIVINE! I’m SO glad I found this blog via bodybuilding.com on facebook. I’m pouring through your archives. 🙂

  2. Phaedra M Leslie October 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Oh also, do you know how much each serving weighs in grams?

    • fierceforward October 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      Phaedra, thanks for your comments. Not sure about weight in grams.

Leave a Reply

