TLC (Turkey Loves Curry)

1 Nov

I got home from a very long day yesterday and knew I had to make my food for the night and for the next day, as I had another early morning and late day upon me. I decided to cook my red and orange bell peppers with some grapeseed oil in a pan to throw in my pre made sauteed turkey meat for the next day and maybe add some mustard. Then I decided to throw on some Taragon and I had Curry so put some of that in and even Cayenne Pepper, as I LOVE spicey! So then I had this awesome smelling pot of sauteed veggies and thought, I want to make this more of a “sauce,” as I am more for sauces vs. dry on anything:) I had Unsweetened Almond Milk and added about 1/2 a cup of that and then added more Curry powder, trying to make a Healthy Curry. I threw in some Turkey meat and added some natural Pasta Sauce I had and it was Amazing. I mean, it swept me off my feet.

A great test for my new recipes I have is to give my boyfriend a sample. If he scours it down and wants more, then I know I have a winner. He’s not picky by any stretch of the imagination but he will stop eating something if he doesn’t enjoy the flavor of it and has had enough. A comment such as, “wow” is always a great indicator too.

I’m going to try to experiment with Greek Yoghurt, Plain (as flavored yogurt and most other yogurts have many sugars in them. You all know I’m a clean eating Queen and this is as clean as you can get! The pasta sauce I got only has 3 ingredients in it: tomatoes, basil and onions. I am a big fan of less ingredients and all natural. I”m seriously psyched about this because when I find a new staple in my diet, I’m all over it! I”m excited too that I can share a recipe like this and hope that it becomes a staple for you too.

* you can substitute turkey meat for chicken, or beans if you are vegetarian. Also, if you are Vegan, Almond Milk is dairy free. I prefer not eating dairy but in moderation so this is perfect!

RECIPE:

Cut Red, Orange and Green (at your own liking) Bell Peppers and White or Yellow Onion and place in heated pan with some Olive Oil or Grapeseed Oil. Let veggies get somewhat softer in texture but not mushy and add in tomato sauce (your choice) and add in one diced tomato.

In separate pan, saute your protein (in this case the ground turkey meat, I get 90/10 lean).

Add 3/4 cup of Unsweetened Almond Milk (plain flavor) (add 1/2 cup if you don’t want very saucy) and mix together.

Sprinkle curry, cayenee pepper (for spicey) and taragon to mix.

Add turkey meat to vegetable pan and let simmer on low for 2 minutes. Ready to eat! You can also make for your week!

Enjoy.

10 Responses to “TLC (Turkey Loves Curry)”

  1. Elizabeth Barrios November 2, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I am new to your site…I was pulled in my your series of posts on your journey (I can kind of relate to you I guess.) I am also a college student, studying engineering so I have like no time or money. I keep trying to encourage my mom to be healthier and to show her that you can eat healthy and clean and still have FLAVOR! This is so simple and such little ingredients that I am going to try this out on my family soon πŸ™‚

    • fierceforward November 3, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Liz, TLC ROCKS!! I think once you get used to less salty, sugary foods, you can appreciate a cleaner, lighter taste. I enjoy the flavors of real, natural products so much better now than all the additives that hook people in to buy more….and EAT more;) Right on girl, way to be a great example and great daughter.

      • Elizabeth Barrios November 4, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

        Yea, I already eat really healthy and go to a bootcamp class 3-4 times a week depending on my school schedule. I love eating clean and if I indulge in something not so clean, I totally feel it the next day. I am actually doing a 21 day challenge by my trainers as a lead up to Thanksgiving (21 days, no flour, no sugar). It’s day three and I feel great!

        I am just really trying to introduce my mom to the healthy world. It would make things so much easier, lol. I mean we are a relatively small family (both of us are 5’2″ and around 100lbs), but that still doesn’t mean you can treat your body badly and that is what I try to tell her. That her insides probably don’t look so pretty πŸ˜›

        I really have enjoyed reading your posts since I found your blog last week. Can’t wait for more!

  2. Briana November 4, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Where exactly can one find a healthy curry mix? Even just a semi one would be great. All the mixes I have found are chock full of sodium and whatnot.

    • fierceforward November 8, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      you prob. make it yourself like I did. that is best for all natural and no sodium or processing.

  3. Jene November 6, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Just wante to tell ya just made TLC ! Loved it!!!

  4. Melissa Goddard November 7, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    I have to agree. SInce I have essentially cut out as much sodium as possible, I have noticed that I don’t like anything if it is even close to salty. My fiance accidently added sea salt to my egg whites a couple of days ago and I couldn’t even eat them. πŸ™‚ By the way, Ash thank you for all of your suggestions. Increased water intake and fiber, and decreased sodium intake and am noticing daily that the bloating is going away! Hooray for one small accomplishment. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to get started as a client!

    • fierceforward November 8, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Mel, sooo awesome to hear!!! I can’t wait to work with you either. One small accomplishment adds up to many if you continue on:) Ash

      • Melissa Goddard November 8, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

        Have to share with you something that happened when my fiance picked me up at work today. I got into the car and he put his hand on my leg. At the same time, my daughter in the back seat asked a question, so I turned to answer her and in the process my leg muscle flexed and my fiance instantly said, “wow. I hadn’t noticed the muscle in your legs until now” He was so impressed and surprised. I am not doing this for him, but it was sure nice that someone recognized that I am making progress! πŸ™‚

        Thank you again Ash for everything. I was starting to loose hope that I could start making progress again and then came across Fierce Forward! So inspired!!!!

Leave a Reply

