A Mentor will guide you

22 Dec

I think of Steve Jobs, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bruce Lee, Will Smith, Thomas Edison, Matt Lowe. The list could go, but these people I look up to, not because of what they look like, not necessarily because of the fact that they are public figures in some way, but because of what they have done and who they are.


I believe when you find a mentor, something clicks. It’s almost as if, if you met this person face to face, you know you’d hit it off. You share similar views, perceptions and thoughts on the world and on character, ambition and goals. From my experience, there aren’t many people you meet that you, after hearing them talk and express who they are, you just want to ride their coat-tails to enjoy the ride and learn from them, because you know inherently, there is something there for you..something big.

Steve Jobs on Self reflection in one’s own life and making a choice.
“For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”
Steve Jobs

Arnold Schwarzenegger on Life and being Hungry
For me life is continuously being hungry. The meaning of life is not simply to exist, to survive, but to move ahead, to go up, to achieve, to conquer.
Arnold Schwarzenegger

Bruce Lee on limits we place on ourselves
If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.
Bruce Lee

Will Smith you HAVE To watch this video if you want to see from a beautiful perspective

Thomas Edison on falling and never giving up
I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.
Thomas A. Edison

and a bonus link:

What I have noticed about my mentors is that what they all have in common is this: they are all deep thinkers, they all have a passion for life and moving forward, they have all accomplished great things in their lives and almost live as if their purpose is to continue creating and learning from their experiences and then sharing their lessons so others don’t have to learn the hard way. They all want to help others and do their best to offer what they are able to. They all never give up. They all are dreamers who believe anything is possible.

The importance of a mentor is MONUMENTAL. You MUST find someone(s) to look to for guidance in times of bold passion and in times of feelings of cold depression thinking nothing is going right. You have to realize that they people serve as your grounding point. They will help you when you feel all else is lost and when you feel you are moving mountains.

How do you find a mentor. Here is how I have found mine…
1. look for quotes that inspire and move you. quotes that speak to your soul. When you find one that does just this, you’ll know it because you’ll feel it. Look who wrote/said that quote and see if that person has said more things that grab hold of you.

2. it does not have to be a public figure or someone that you don’t know in person. think about who in your life is doing great things that you wish to accomplish, maybe similarly or in different ways. it can even be someone who just has this light about life. Another one of my mentors is my step dad. He walks in a room and is just charismatic and like lightening, in the best way possible. He sheds light on almost all situations, something that I could do a little more of! He has always said to me, “Ash, do onto others as you would have them do onto you.”~The Golden Rule I’d say I live my life very much in line with this.

3. pinpoint what you have always wanted to do but never had the guts to carry forth with. who is doing that very thing. maybe you’ve always wanted to open a business and you know someone who has done just that and started out of a garage and is now running a million dollar company. I think of Ryan Deluca of Bodybuilding.com. He did just that. I think that’s pretty effing amazing.

4. begin listening and opening yourself up more to find that mentor. thinking and thinking and thinking about finding him or her, you will be open to that person coming to you, whether through a friend’s post on facebook of a quote that you love to the person who sits next to you each night while you’re winding down. maybe it’s something about your spouse/boyfriend/girlfriend/child you love that is undeniable to you and you love how they live their life. Start listening for that person to come into your life somehow.

Life is tough and facing fears is brutal. Having someone that has done it before or who has walked in the shoes in some way, that you really want to walk in, is more motivating than you can imagine.

Start looking now.

5 Responses to “A Mentor will guide you”

  1. Justina December 23, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    You are so inspiring! Love the way you think of life and the way you inspire others! You keep me moving forward, Ash! 🙂

    • fierceforward December 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Justina, thank you so much girl! you guys are awesome and I’m living my passion thanks to people like you that keep me going. Its always so nice to hear genuine comments like this…keeps me motivated to keep doing what I”m doing. Here for you! Ash

    • fierceforward January 9, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Justina, thank you so much for your kind words….xoxo

  2. Staci December 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Ash you are definitely one of my mentors! Thank you for being such an encouragement in my life!

    • fierceforward December 30, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      staci, thank you so much! That melts my heart! xoxo Ash

Leave a Reply

