Not Just Any Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes Recipe

12 Jan

Trick the boys/men of the house into eating Cauliflower. I promise you this WILL become a staple in your house. We all know there are a lot of picky eater out there, me one of them! I’m not a huge fan of Cauliflower, never have been. BUT, I’ve really been giving a huge effort eating healthier and more quantities of vegetables lately.

You all know I do my best to stay away from Gluten and Dairy. I drink Unsweetened Almond milk with my protein powder when I do have a protein shake and I use it in place of milk in most of my recipes. So last night I had a head of cauliflower and I thought, rather than steaming it and eating it plain, I should try to create something better from it!

Here is what I came up with! To my surprise, these are my new staple!!
I am currently eating SIMPLE and many vegetables and no fat with carbs. Watching my timing and food combining, as well as only eating 3 times per day now. I am able to have these for dinner at night and I’m in love with them!

You’ll notice it says, Jalapenos are optional. IF you want a kick, go for the Jalapenos, and IF you don’t like flavor of Cauliflower, add Jalapenos. It gives a major kick but I personally like the mashed potatoes without, as I can taste the Cauliflower more in the regular version. Who would have thought Ashley’s taste buds would finally be growing up!

Enjoy Fierce Fighters!!

1 Head Cauliflower
1 small Yellow onion
2 Medium Red Potatoes
1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk, Plain
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp roasted garlic (optional…added soo much garlic flavor, it was amazing to mix that with the cauliflower flavor, they both stood boldly on their own)
OPTIONAL for heat, add 1/2 Jalapenos without juice

Steam Cauliflower that has been separated from its roots.

Put small yellow onion in water (or add tbsp. of olive oil..like I said, I’m not consuming fat together with carbohydrates, so I just put in water..also, omitting olive oil will cut some calories)and saute until soft.

Poke holes in both Potatoes and put in microwaves for 3 minutes, in bowl.

Put Cauliflower, sauteed onion, chopped potatoes, Almond Milk, pepper, salt roasted garlic in food processor and blend until smooth. There will be a tiny consistency where you should be able to see red skin.
REMEMBER: JALAPENOS OPTIONAL ADD STRAIGHT TO EVERYTHING ELSE IF YOU ARE ADDING THEM IN.
Eat right away or put into container and save for week. This will be great for 3-4 servings….large ones:) I have not done the calorie count as of yet, but will add this when I complete it.


*Trust this dish as an amazingly healthy and sneaky way of getting your vegetables in a more traditional dish, but with no fats and healthy carbohydrates. Serve with lean protein:).

Leave a Reply

