Would you like some Baked Oatmeal to go with that Coconut?

9 Feb

I am going to have to toot my own horn now because I’m getting really, really, awfully good at this! 😉 This has topped my favorite baked oatmeal recipe so far.

I decided, hmm, coconut would be a great idea. Coconut is known to be a food high in Saturated Fat and this is true. I would just say, use this recipe in moderation, not as a staple. If you want to treat your family or yourself to an out of this world breakfast, this is it. Seriously, I’m still shocked the calories or fat is what it is…it tastes like heaven. The best part is the outside, where it is a bit brown and crunchy!

You’ll need:

2 cups Old Fashioned Oatmeal (I used Gluten Free, if you use GF Oats, make sure to add 1/8 tsp. Xanthum Gum)
1 1/2 cups Almond Meal
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
3/4 cup unsweetened organic coconut flakes (I like organic best because it’s closer to the real thing and much more moist)
1/3 cup egg whites
1 egg
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (vanilla or plain, I used plain)
2 tsp coconut extract
1 tsp vanilla

Mix dry ingredients, add wet then pour into 8×8 square pan that has been sprayed with Extra Virgin olive oil pam or Pam

Bake 325 for 30-35 minutes.

Nutrition facts:
Serves 9
Calories 278
Carbs 26
Fat 16 Saturated fat 4grams per square
Protein 9

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

