Turning 30 could not be cooler

27 Feb

I’ve made it 30 years on this Earth. As I’m sitting here writing this, I think what a great time it’s been and to arrive here, I have nothing but grateful to feel, about my life, my opportunities, my challenges and myself and my journey.

So many people have prepared me for this day, asking me, “well, how do you feel about turning the big three zero?” like it’s some kind of falling into a deep hole with no return. lol. “I’m getting old now!” The only part of that I understand is the newest smile line I have next to my eye lid. I’d rather have smile lines than not though!:) So today, I came prepared because with the questions like these I have found a contrast in how i Feel. I feel excited to be another year older, to have survived another year of life. After all, life is tough. Who is anyone kidding when they say it’s a breeze. Actually, I’ve never heard anyone say that. And I don’t believe life should be a breeze, it should be full of hurt, love, pain, happiness, anger, greed, rejection, frustration, confusion, curiosity, maybe even a little jealousy. To feel it all. Because we’re all human.

To be grateful for what you have is what life is all about. To be grateful.

Growing up, I have been a Seeker, a Questioner, a Feeler, a Thinker and a Lover.

What I’ve realized is that no matter how much you morph throughout the years, you’ll never lose who you really are, which is who you’ve always been. It’s the good things about you that can also be the worst things for you in some ways. But that’s how we grow, by feeling, seeking to understand, loving, questioning and loving.

I look to my thirties as a place of growth, a place of new things, new challenges, new people, and a place where I know I’ll find new, strong parts of me.
I’ve learned many things and one of the most important is not giving up: “strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. when you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength.” Arnold Schwarzenegger (I couldn’t help myself!).

You have to:
fight for what you want.
love with everything you have, even when the love is not being returned. You just have to do your part.
always be in check with where you are and be asking yourself if this is what you want. If it isn’t, do something about it.
Switch it up.
have a blast.
change.
don’t change.
question, seek to understand and learn.
struggle.
know that things may not always be exactly how you want them,but different and maybe even better!
be you.

So for my thirties, I have written down my goals and this is a new chapter, it is a landmark, a time of change and time of stopping and thinking about what I want my next ten years to be like. I’m always asking myself what I want next or what I wish to work towards next, because if I don’t, I’ll be stuck just here, stagnant. That’s how you move forward after all.

1. Through my healthy lifestyle, I have found that I love cooking. I remember cooking with my gramps, who is no longer here….he taught me Banana’s Foster and all the really yummy things! He sat me down and showed me how to make wine labels into tiles, which I will one day put all over my kitchen. Cooking is like relaxing and creating all in one. and I’ve found that it comes naturally. I will cook more and create more healthy recipes into a cookbook.

2. I will not deprive myself of anything in life anymore. Not my own confidence, not foods, not even wine!!!

3. I will be free. Free from any chains I have always put on myself. I have found through talking to others, observing and through my own actions/thoughts, that most times, we put up these walls for ourselves which we think we can’t move past, but if we just realize that we can overcome and be anything and not to put the walls up in the first place, it’s a really freeing feeling.

4. Just….let go. To just be. To breathe, to let it all in and be ok with it all.

5. To always know
That we are all so much more powerful than we think or believe or know we are. To discover that acceptance of being ok with that version of me. I think alot of times people really are afraid of success. Because we don’t play that part often, we are usually going through motions, being fearful or striving, it’s not a role we’re comfortable playing because it’s not often we’re feeling that about ourselves. “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”
― Marianne Williamson, Return to Love

6. To remember to smile, laugh and have fun.

7. To roar. To know that you have to tell the World what you want and go get it. Nothing worthwhile is given to you, the only thing worthwhile comes at a cost…the cost of hard work, patience, determination and the will to never give up. To be BIG, BOLD, Powerful and confident.

8. And I could never forget to include the Mantra that has moved me forward….to FIERCE FORWARD! To never give up, to never doubt my capabilities, to always be me whilst moving forward.

Leave a Reply

